Lodge Centurions Announced

centurionaward-300x273The Centurion Award aims to highlight “Hometown Heroes,” or those Arrowmen who have meaningfully contributed to the forming, maturing and ongoing operational excellence of their local council’s lodge, and who, in doing so, have or will have inspired others to follow in their footsteps.

Six members of Atta Kulla Kulla Lodge have been recently announced nationally as Centurions. This award is a one-time recognition associated with the centennial anniversary of the OA that is bestowed by the national Order of the Arrow committee. It is modeled after a similar program in the BSA’s 100th anniversary celebration, the 2010 National Hall of Leadership. Accordingly, this recognition is an opportunity to highlight lodge development over the last century and the many individuals, both youth and adult, who were instrumental to this success. Centurion Award honorees will serve as exemplars of leadership, modeling to others a commitment to cheerful service as the Order of the Arrow enters its second century of service.

Over 1,800 brothers from across the nation have been recognized as Centurions, including many who have passed away but their role in shaping their lodges has not been forgotten. As the Order embarks for the next century of cheerful service and the lodge prepares for the next 75 years, these six Centurions will serve as a paramount reminder of our lodge’s legacy.

The six recipients from Atta Kulla Kulla Lodge are:
Mac McLean – For distinguished adult service
Tim Hunt – For distinguished adult service
Michael Thompson – For distinguished adult service
David Buchanan – For distinguished youth service
James Stokes – For distinguished youth service
Matthew Watson – For distinguished youth service

A few weeks ago, the Centurions from SR-5 were recognized publically at the Muscogee Lodge ArrowTour stop. At the Lodge Cookout and Vigil Honor Callout at Camp Old Indian on July 22, the Lodge will recognize these six brothers for their role in shaping the Lodge’s legacy for the future. At NOAC, recipients of the award will be provided with a certificate and recognition ribbon consisting of a red and white ribbon and a metallic totem symbolizing the centennial anniversary of the Order of the Arrow.

If you would like to see the complete listing of Centurion recipients from the nation, please visit: