Ben Howard

– presented by Lodge Chief and Adviser

Dedicated. Hardworking. Spirited. Humble. These are just a few words that describe Ben Howard. Ben left a lasting impact on everyone he met, and was a dear friend to many. Following his passing in April of 2016, the Lodge felt it was only fitting to develop an award in Ben’s honor. Given to a youth member (under 21) who shows exemplary service in all aspects of life, while also maintaining a positive and role-model like attitude, the Ben Howard Spirit of Service Award is given annually to one (1) arrowman of the Lodge.


  1. Youth Member (under 21)

  1. Nominated and voted on by the Lodge Executive Committee

  1. Provide exemplary service to the Lodge, while maintaining a positive attitude

  1. Only one (1) award each year

  2. Candidate cannot be a sitting Lodge Officer

*In its inaugural year, 2017, the Lodge Key 3 approved the BHSSA to be awarded to two (2) arrowman, Matthew Watson and James Stokes, as both had given many years of service to the Lodge and were seen as equally qualified candidates*

2024 – Bennett Tollison

2023 – Wilson Stokes

2022 – Austin Silvers

2021 – Joshua Kirchner

2020 – Lawrence Coleman

2019 – Aidan Koschnitzki

2018 – Dylan Wilcox

2017 – Matthew Watson and James Stokes